Phrygian mode chord chart

Phrygian mode differs with four notes from the major scale. This affects how chord progressions are constructed. The second, third and sixth degrees are no longer minor but major. The opposite is true for the fourth and fifth degrees that change from major to minor. Because of this, many new chord combinations with different features are possible if the Phrygian is used.

The first table with chords shows the relationship of all triads in this mode (Phrygian can be seen as a minor mode). The first column shows the key note of the mode and on the same row the other chords that fits together with it.

Chords in Phrygian modes

i II III iv v VI vii
D#m E F# G#m A#dim B C#m
G#m A B C#m D#dim E F#m
C#m D E F#m G#dim A Bm
F#m G A Bm C#dim D Em
Bm C D Em F#dim G Am
Em F G Am Bdim C Dm
Am Bb C Dm Edim F Gm
Dm Eb F Gm Adim Bb Cm
Gm Ab Bb Cm Ddim Eb Fm
Cm Db Eb Fm Gdim Ab Bbm
Fm Gb Ab Bbm Cdim Db Ebm
Bbm Db Db Ebm Fdim Gb Abm
Ebm E Gb Abm Bbdim B Dbm
Abm A B Dbm Ebdim E Gbm
Dbm D E Gbm Abdim A Bm

Phrygian chord progressions

Here are chord progressions based on the Phrygian mode:

C - D - Em - Bm (B Phrygian)

Em - F - G (E Phrygian)

Bb - C - Dm - Am (A Phrygian)

Eb - F - Dm (D Phrygian)

Phrygian is not a scale that is frequently used for building progressions. Nevertheless, the scale can be utilized to find combinations that may not normally be though upon from a major/minor perspective.

Also, the uncovinient diminished v degree can be altered with a V7:

Em - Dm - B7 (E Phrygian)

Four-note chords in Phrygian modes

i II III iv v VI vii
D#m7 Emaj7 F#6 G#m7 A#m7b5 Bmaj7 C#m7
G#m7 Amaj7 B6 C#m7 D#m7b5 Emaj7 F#m7
C#m7 Dmaj7 E6 F#m7 G#m7b5 Amaj7 Bm7
F#m7 Gmaj7 A6 Bm7 C#m7b5 Dmaj7 Em7
Bm7 Cmaj7 D6 Em7 F#m7b5 Gmaj7 Am7
Em7 Fmaj7 G6 Am7 Bm7b5 Cmaj7 Dm7
Am7 Bbmaj7 C6 Dm7 Em7b5 Fmaj7 Gm7
Dm7 Ebmaj7 F6 Gm7 Am7b5 Bbmaj7 Cm7
Gm7 Abmaj7 Bb6 Cm7 Dm7b5 Ebmaj7 Fm7
Cm7 Dbmaj7 Eb6 Fm7 Gm7b5 Abmaj7 Bbm7
Fm7 Gbmaj7 Ab6 Bbm7 Cm7b5 Dbmaj7 Ebm7
Bbm7 Dbmaj7 Db6 Ebm7 Fm7b5 Gbmaj7 Abm7
Ebm7 Emaj7 Gb6 Abm7 Bbm7b5 Bmaj7 Dbm7
Abm7 Amaj7 B6 Dbm7 Ebm7b5 Emaj7 Gbm7
Dbm7 Dmaj7 E6 Gbm7 Abm7b5 Amaj7 Bm7


The four-note chords in the second table are not the only possible four-note chords based on the Phrygian, and it can be extended to five-note chords as well. The II chord could also be maj9 or maj13, the iv chord could also be m9 and m11 and so on. In addition, the 6 chord on the third degree can be replaced with a dominant 7th.

Some chord progressions including extended Phrygian based chords:

Bm7 - D6 - Gmaj7 (B Phrygian)

Dm7 - Fmaj7 - G6 - Em7 (E Phrygian)

Bbmaj7 - C6 - Gm7 - Am7 (A Phrygian)

See also:

Dorian mode chord chart
Lydian mode chord chart
Mixolydian mode chord chart