Cmaj7 chord inversions

Cmaj7/E, Cmaj7/G and Cmaj7/B are the first, second and third inversions of the Cmaj7. This means that the bass tone is shifting from C to E, G or B.


  • Cmaj7/E chord diagram


  • Cmaj7/G chord diagram


  • Cmaj7/B chord diagram X22010

Theory and information

All these chords consist of the notes C, E, G, B. The difference is that the order of notes shifts. E is the bass note in the first inversion, G is the bass note in the second inversion and B is the bass note in the third inversion.

Alternative chord names

Cmaj7/B is identical with C/B.

Ebook ad